Seeking Beta Readers!

Hello there, friendly readers! I’ve been working on a hard science fiction project for National Novel Writing Month and I’m just about finished. Sometime in early 2017 I will be looking for beta readers to give it a peruse and offer opinions.

A beta reader, if you don’t know, reads an unpublished manuscript at some time before it’s submitted for publication to help guide the author in the editing process. The benefit to you is that you get to read a brand-new novel for free before anybody else has a look at it. The drawback is that, being as it will be an unfinished manuscript, it’s not as likely to be as well polished as a published work you’re buying from the store. Also, I’ll be circulating questionnaires after each chapter that I’ll need you to fill out in order to pin down areas where the work needs improvement.

Part of what you’ll be reading for is clarity, ability to identify with the characters, pacing, and general interest. I’m not looking for editors at this time so you won’t need to worry about grammar or punctuation. Primarily I’m hoping to attract people who are familiar with science fiction and like the genre, but any regular reader who can read somewhat quickly and regularly is welcome.

I am also looking for an astrophysicist and a geologist who are interested in reading for technical accuracy in those fields.

As you might expect, you’ll need to agree not to share the contents of my work with anyone else.

If you’re interested, please contact me here on my blog, on my website, or at my Twitter page. And thanks for your time in advance!

4 thoughts on “Seeking Beta Readers!

    1. Awesome, Fieldmachanik! Thanks! Just send me your email address through the Contact page (you can find it by clicking the little icon of horizontal lines in the top right; I know, lousy setup on the sidebar is the only downside of this theme I’ve found so far) with your email address and Beta Reading in the subject line and I will add you to the list! Thank you very much!

      BTW – Having just heard the very sad news about Carrie Fisher, I’m going to borrow an image from your blog to write an article about Princess Leia. I hope you don’t mind.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

