A Good Writing Vlog: Jenna Moreci

It’s hard to find good advice about writing.  A lot of people do vlogs about it, but in my opinion, they either seem to be amateurs who are more interested in discussing the social issues around writing than the writing process itself (which is important, and something I’m interested in, but I wish they would title the video “Why it’s Important to Write Believable Female Characters” if that’s what they want to talk about, instead of “Writing Female Characters,” for example); or they seem to be university professors who have recorded a very long and very boring lecture.  I don’t have time for long and boring lectures, and I doubt you do either; I get little enough time to do good fiction writing in my daily life as it is!

But I’ve found at least one channel that I actively subscribe to, and that’s Jenna Moreci.  She’s insightful and funny, and she cuts out the extended “ums.”  She’s a self-published teen fiction author and she talks about the nuts and bolts of writing primarily as a method of building her audience.  Not that I think this is a bad thing.  Her videos are only a few minutes long and make their relevant points with a sarcastic wit that I really enjoy.  Here’s one of my favourites.  It’s funny because it’s true.

Leave a Reply

