Camp NaNoWriMo Projects

I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo this year, and I’m currently working on four different projects.  So far I’m actually doing pretty well.  I was originally not going to do the contest entry and instead I was going to do my anthology story, but I’ve finished it already.  Here’s my list of projects:

Goal: 20,000 words.

I’m working on four stories for publication for this Camp:

  • A story intended for an anthology about soldiers and an apocalypse. (About 5000 words). Working Title: For King and Country. Synopsis: After a grueling voyage, Captain Elphinstone and the officers and crew of the HMS Oriole were looking forward to finally returning to civilization. But to their dismay, it seems that civilization has vanished in their absence. What happened? Are their families back in Old England still alive? And was Old Boney somehow responsible? Will they be able to keep the French ship pursuing them at bay long enough to find out? Deadline – April 30.
  • A story intended for a major Canadian sci-fi publication. The theme is “optimism.” (About 5000 words) Title: Three Minute Delay. Synopsis: Rani was honoured to be among the crew chosen for the first manned mission to study potential microbial life on Mars. But away from Earth’s protective electromagnetic field they discovered that human impulse control was not what it should be, and the result was threatening the mission, marriages, and even lives of the beleaguered crew. Only a truly ingenious solution could save them. Necessity, after all, is the mother of invention . . . Deadline – April 30.
  • A story intended for self-publication to Kindle, the second in a series of novelettes I’m publishing called the Wyrd West Chronicles. (About 7000 words). Title: Vice and Virtue. Synopsis: Pete Woodhouse doesn’t like to get involved. Too many complications, too dangerous to his person. But when the young half-elven Gunslinger who just saved his town finds himself standing alone against a gang of killers and thieves, the goads of his conscience might just be too much to ignore. Will he finally find himself putting his skills as an alchemist and inventor — and his prosthetic pneumatic shotgun — to work for the cause of Light? Welcome to the Wyrd West, the world next door, where high fantasy and Western blend and merge with a dash of steampunk. Deadline – May 15.
  • A story for the Kindle Storyteller contest at Kindle UK. I’m writing a dystopian story that’s an update of something I wrote as a child from a dream I had (which probably tells you something about the way my mind works that I am reluctant to admit in public!) (Minimum 5000 words) Title: Food on Their Table. Synopsis: On his sixteenth birthday, Paul was taken in by the Watch Authority for his interview and assessment. But something was wrong. The questions were getting stranger and the process was taking an awful long time. Had he been Selected? And if so, how was he going to escape? Deadline – May 19.

You may have noticed that the amount of words intended in the stories are greater than the total words I’m trying to do. That’s because I am getting started on them now! I have a much clearer idea of what I’m doing with the first and last story than the other two. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

